Ballon d’Or in 2023 new rules changes, format, vote and season window

Ballon d’Or in 2023 new rules changes, format, vote and season window
– #Ballon #dOr #rules #format #vote #season #window

Learn all you need to know about the 2023 Ballon d’Or award-winning criteria, as well as the four new rules that will determine the winner

The Ballon d’Or is the most coveted award in football history. Traditionally, the honour is given to players who have remained at the top of the competition and performed excellently and consistently throughout the calendar year. However, starting in 2023, the criteria for selecting the winner of the Ballon d’Or will be completely changed, with the focus now placed on players’ performances throughout the season rather than yearly.

Ballon d’Or in 2023 new rules changes, format, vote and season window explained

Lionel Messi of PSG and Argentina won his seventh Ballon d’Or title in 2022, beating out Barcelona and Poland’s Robert Lewandowski. Following the ceremony, Lionel Messi and his seventh Ballon d’Or became a point of controversy, with many believing that Robert Lewandowski was more deserving of the award. In this article, we will be learning about four new rules to determine the Ballon d’Or winner.

The four new rules for winning the Ballon d’Or are explained

France Football has granted the award to men since 1956 and to women since 2018. Traditionally, the winner was chosen based on his performance over the course of a single calendar year. However, the award will now be given based on a player’s performance during a proper football season (Aug-July). The four new rules that will select the winner of the Ballon d’Or in 2023 are outlined below.

  • The winner will be determined based on the major football season (Aug-July), rather than the preceding calendar year. This year’s award will be based on footballers’ efforts over the 2021-22 season, which will continue until the 2022 Women’s Euro tournament.
  • It should be mentioned that the 2022 FIFA World Cup performances will be considered for the 2023 ceremony.
  • Along with the journalists voting, Chelsea icon Didier Drogba, Truong Anh Ngoc, and Karolina Hlavackova have been invited to the panel to establish an organised list of nominees.
  • Only representatives from the top 100 FIFA rankings are eligible to vote in the Men’s division. The top 50 nations are permitted in the Women’s division.
  • The overall performance of the winner, rather than the individual numbers of the season, will be considered for the award.

ALSO READ: Bundesliga: Leipzig’s ball robber Konrad Laimer to meet his future Bayern teammates

Recommended: Sports Fan App



Stay Connected with – Follow for more updates, you will be notified soon. Thank You For Visiting